Do You Have to Have a License to Own a Property Management Company in Georgia?

Most states require a property manager to have a real estate broker's license. A property management firm would require association with someone who has a real estate broker's license. Georgia is not one of the exceptions to the rule. There a property manager or operator of a property management firm must hold a broker's license.

License Types

Georgia offers four types of real estate licenses: a community association manager's license, a salesperson's license, an associate broker's license and a broker's license. A property management firm must designate an individual licensed as a qualifying broker, responsible for assuring that the firm and its licensees comply with all state regulations pertaining to the conduct of licensed real estate professionals.

Activities Requiring a License

A broker's license is required in Georgia to sell, purchase, appraise or lease real estate on behalf of another for a fee or commission. A licensed sales person may act on behalf of her licensed broker in performance of these duties. A non-licensed person may not. A property owner may act as manager for himself and may employ by salary or wage non-licensed individuals to act under his direction.

License Requirements

You need to meet fix basic qualifications to obtain a broker's license in Georgia. You must be at least 21 years old. You must be a resident of Georgia. You must be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency. You must have held a real estate license at least three of the five years immediately preceding the filing of an application to become a broker. You must have completed at least 60 instructional hours in real estate course work approved by the real estate commission. And you must pass a broker's exam.

If You Don't Have a License

As a property owner, you will not have broken any rules if you hire a property management firm that is without someone holding a broker's license. On the other hand, if you own a property management firm that does not have a designated qualifying broker, you will be breaking the law. The state real estate commission will first send a cease and desist order. Continued operation after 10 days of that order brings a $1,000-a-ay fine.