Grants for Older Writers

Grants for writers have various stipulations for characteristics of the writer or the work. Some grants are open to writers of certain ages. Older writers can find grants that are specific to their age group. Whether you have been writing for years or started late in life, you can find grants to provide financial support for your literary efforts.

Speculative Literature Foundation: Older Writers Grant

The Older Writers Grant is for writers over 50 years old. As the award is sponsored by the Speculative Literature Foundation, only writers seeking funds to work on speculative literature should apply. This genre includes science fiction, fantasy and fairy tales, among other sub-genres. Applicants may have published work, but it is not a necessary condition. Each applicant must submit a writing sample and a short biography. As of 2010, one winner each year receives $750.

Patricia Dobler Poetry Award

The Patricia Dobler Award is sponsored by Carlow University in Pittsburgh. The prize that the award carries is $3,500 to pay for attendance at the Master of Fine Arts program in Sligo, Ireland, a reading at Carlow University and publication in the university's literary journal. Applicants must be female poets over the age of 40. Each application must include two poems and a $20 entry fee. Each entrant receives a copy of the university's journal.

Robert H. Winner Memorial Award

The Poetry Society of America sponsors the Robert H. Winner Memorial Award for poets over 40. Recipients of this award are in the middle of their careers but are not yet widely recognized. Robert H. Winner published his first poetry book in his late 40s. Applicants must have published no more than one book. They should submit manuscripts of poetry up to 10 pages in length. Each year, one winner receives $2,500. Poets may submit applications for this award between October 1 and December 22.

Milt Kessler Poetry Book Award

The Milt Kessler Poetry Book Award is sponsored by the Binghamton Center for Writers at the State University of New York. Each year, the award honors a book of poetry that is more than 48 pages long. Entries must be nominated by publishers. To qualify, a book must have had a press run of 500 copies or more. The author must be a poet over the age of 40. The award carries a cash prize of $1,000.