Which Branch of the Government Controls the Coining of Money?

by Susan Revermann
Six U.S. coining facilities can be found across the country.

There are three main branches of the United States government: legislative, executive and judicial. This three-fold division ensures that not one single branch has all of the power. Each branch has a very specific set of duties to carry out and only one is in charge of coining and printing money, according to the U.S. House of Representatives website.

Money Matters

The legislative branch of the government, Congress, is assigned to writing and passing laws, declaring war, regulating commerce, and controlling federal taxation and spending, as well as being in charge of coining and printing money. The U.S Mint, created by congress in 1792, is in charge of making the coins and the U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing, BEP, started in 1862, heads up the creation of paper money. Both the Mint and BEP are part of the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Photo Credits

  • Jupiterimages/liquidlibrary/Getty Images