South Carolina Default Judgment Laws

by Jennifer Allen ; Updated July 27, 2017
If you live in South Carolina and have delinquent debt, your creditor has the right to file a default judgment.

Judgments are granted when creditors or individuals you owe request monetary relief if you have not paid your debt to them. Judgments are sometimes handled in civil court and can even be granted if you do not answer the creditor's complaint to the court.

Term of Judgment

In South Carolina, judgments are effective for 10 years. Once a judgment is filed, the judgment attaches to your property and name and must be paid to purchase or refinance real estate property.

Judgment Interest Rate

In 2010, South Carolina has the judgment interest rate set at 8.75 percent per year on money owed. If the money is owed through a court ordered decree, a 14 percent interest rate can be charged in South Carolina, as of 2010. The interest rate may change yearly.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Sapling

Exemptions

In filing a judgment in South Carolina, you are allowed up to $5,000 in value in property without a judgment attaching to your property. For any property you have over the $5,000 value, creditors are able to file a judgment on and even repossess property to pay the judgment in South Carolina.

About the Author

Jennifer Allen obtained her Bachelor of Arts in economics and a Bachelor of Arts in political science, and has worked in finance since May 2006. She completed her Master of Arts in human resource management in December 2009. Allen has written a variety of articles that are published on various websites.

Photo Credits

  • money money image by Valentin Mosichev from Fotolia.com
Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article