Scholarships for Child Life Specialist

by Sandra Mireles
Looking for the right scholarship.

Child Life Specialists (CLS) usually work in a hospital setting with children of all ages, providing support and assistance to families during the child's hospitalization. Students must have a solid academic background and one-on-one experience with young children. According to the Mayo School of Health Sciences, to be eligible to sit for the Certified Child Life Specialist Exam, graduates must complete 480 internship hours at a hospital. Some schools offer scholarships to child life specialist students.

Ball State University - Moore Scholarships

The Department of Family and Consumer Sciences at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana offers five scholarships in the amount of $3500. Each scholarship is renewable for up to three additional years making the total award $14,000. Students are required to major in a degree program within Family and Consumer Sciences department which includes the child life specialist degree. Department of Family and Consumer Sciences Ball State University 2000 W. University Ave. Muncie, Indiana 47306 765-285-2297 bsu.edu

The University of Akron- Leona W. Farris Scholarship

The Leona W. Farris Scholarship was established in 1987 by the School of Family and Consumer Sciences in honor of Leona W. Farris, Director and teacher of Community Involvement. According to the University of Akron School of Family and Consumer Sciences website, this endowed fund is to be used "to encourage black university students majoring in Family and Consumer Sciences." Child life specialist students are eligible for this scholarship. Black students with a high grade point average and a commitment to community service, and financial need should apply. The University of Akron School of Family and Consumer Sciences 302 Buchtel Common Akron, Ohio 44325 330-972-7111 uakron.edu

Texas State University

The Department of Family and Consumer Sciences at Texas State University offers scholarships to needy students such as the Esther R. Broome scholarship for single mothers with a GPA of 3.0, or the Azalete and Byron Little scholarship for students majoring in a Family and Consumer Science degree who are sophomores, juniors or seniors with a GPA of 3.0, and demonstrated financial need. Evelyn L. Hearne scholarship is given throughout the year to students with GPA of 2.5 majoring in a Family and Consumer Sciences degree, such as child life specialist, with demonstrated leadership in the department. Texas State University Department of Family and Consumer Sciences 601 University Drive San Marcos, Texas 78666 512.245.2111 fcs.txstate.edu

About the Author

Based in Humble, Texas, Sandra Mireles has been writing professionally since 2006. She worked as a technical writer in clinical research for two years. She has a Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Administration from the University of Phoenix and is a published Christian writer specializing in prayer.

Photo Credits

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article