A quitclaim deed lets you gift or sell your property to another person quickly and easily because it transfers legal ownership without making guarantees about the title. Costs vary depending on whether you prepare the quitclaim deed yourself or hire a professional, such as an attorney or title company, to do it for you.
Families Often Use DIY Quitclaims
Quitclaim deeds contain no warranties of title. The owner does not promise that there are no claims against his title to the property. For this reason, quitclaims are typically used to transfer property within a family. Parents may transfer the family home to their children or a homeowner may add his new spouse to the title. In this scenario, you may choose to prepare a quitclaim deed yourself at little cost.
Attorneys Helpful in Complex Transactions
A quitclaim might also be used to clear a title problem or remove a name from title. These changes are often part of a larger transaction such as a sale or divorce. An attorney or title company participating in the transaction can prepare the quitclaim deed. A quitclaim deed looks deceptively simple, but because it transfers a major asset -- your home or land -- you may face serious legal consequences if it's completed incorrectly. Seek professional legal advice.
Lawyer and Title Fees Vary by Location
A lawyer either charges a flat fee or an hourly fee to prepare a quitclaim deed. Rates vary by state and law office but typically fall in the range of $200 to $400 per hour. Title companies routinely prepare quitclaim deeds in many states. Fees for title companies vary, but a market scan shows an average of $100 to $200 for a simple quitclaim deed. There’s no one-size-fits-all pricing mechanism, so shop lawyers and title companies for the best rate.
DIY Quitclaim Deeds Are More Affordable
If you have the right information, you may consider preparing the quitclaim deed yourself. You need a copy of your deed and the legal description of the property. The county recorder’s office has this information if you cannot find it. Next, purchase a blank quitclaim form. Several companies offer boilerplate forms online, sometimes free of charge. If you use a deed you find on the Internet, you risk using a form that's outdated or inadequate for your transfer. Business stationery stores or county clerk's offices may sell state-specific quitclaim forms for a small fee.
Notary and Recording Fees Add to Cost
While states vary in their signing requirement, a quitclaim deed usually is not enforceable unless you sign it before a notary public. At the time of publication, notaries charged between $10 and $20 for their services. After getting the quitclaim notarized, you must record the deed with the county records office. You must pay a small recording fee, which varies by county. There is also a transfer tax, also known as a deed stamp. Many states charge transfer tax as a percentage of the purchase price specified in the deed. You pay the deed stamp to the county recorder.
- Investopedia: Five Things to Know About Quitclaim Deeds
- Colarado Department of Regulatory Services: Title Rates and Fee Filing
- 123 Notary California: California Notary Search
- Jackson County Missouri: Deed Preparation FAQ
- Lawyers.com: How, and How Much, Do Lawyers Charge?
- Ravenswood Title: Schedule of Fees and Charges
- c-George/iStock/Getty Images