As a renter, you are bound by the contract you signed at the beginning of your lease. If you fail to abide by the terms of your contract, you could be evicted. If this is the case, your landlord must present you with a formal eviction notice declaring you are evicted. The length of time you have before you are legally obligated to move depends on the state you live in.
One of the most common causes of eviction is nonpayment of rent. If you fail to pay your rent, you likely have between three and 30 days of leniency, depending on your state's laws. For a full list of times, see the link in the Resource section.
Breach of Lease
If you have breached another term of your lease, such as a no-pet clause, you have between three and 30 days. In Vermont, you have 30 days unless the breach was a result of illegal activity, such as drug possession, in which case your timeline is 14 days.
Under Illinois law, the notice period begins the day after the eviction notice is served. The last day of this period is excluded if it falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday. If the tenant receives an eviction notice in the mail, the notice period begins on the day after the tenant received it. Start times vary by state.
Many states have various caveats within the laws that specify a particular time frame. Landlords in Alaska, for example, may terminate a lease with only 24 hours' notice if the tenant damaged the property intentionally. In Arizona, lying on the rental application is grounds for lease termination.
- Photos.com/Photos.com/Getty Images